Make me Thy fuel

(by Amy Carmichael)

From prayer that asks that I may be
Sheltered from winds that beat on Thee
From fearing when I should aspire
From faltering when I should climb higher
From silken self, O Captain, free
Thy soldier who would follow Thee

From subtle love of softening things
From easy choices, weakenings
Not thus are spirits fortified
Not this way went the Crucified
From all that dims Thy Calvary
O Lamb of God, deliver me

Give me the love that leads the way
The faith that nothing can dismay
The hope no disappointments tire
The passion that will burn like fire
Let me not sink to be a clod
Make me Thy fuel, Flame of God

3 thoughts on “Make me Thy fuel

  1. Mike June 24, 2009 / 8:25 pm

    Leonard Ravenhill liked that poem. I heard him quote the second verse. Good find.

    Mike

  2. Eirene June 25, 2009 / 5:44 am

    Here’s the line that got me – “From silken self, O Captain, free”. I don’t want to be a slave to the comforts and conveniences of this world.

  3. Mike June 25, 2009 / 7:04 pm

    From all that dims Thy Calvary
    O Lamb of God, deliver me

Leave a comment